Monastery St. George - one of the cultural-historical pearls in the region
The former Benedictine monastery of St. Georgen presents itself in a surprisingly good state of preservation and enchants its visitors through a romantic area and outstanding art-historical treasures.
History: From 1007 onwards, the Benedictines built an impressive monastery complex, which is still completely preserved today. The monastery was abolished in the course of the Reformation in 1525. Since then, the complex has been completely preserved and charmes with an authentic late-medieval condition.
Art treasures: In its heyday, the monastery was decorated with rich wainscot and woodcarvings, as well as numerous murals depicting the prosperity and formation of the last monks. Our top of art history is a fresco cycle with the earliest and most important Renaissance façades north of the Alps, which give a fascinating impression of the life in the outgoing Middle Ages.
Visiting: April-October Tue-Sun 10am to 5pm, independent tour (approx. 30min)
Special features: magnificent gardens with magnificent flower beds, monastic medicinal garden and a fantastic view to the Rhine the lake with the romantic islands.
Guided tours on request (email or phonecall)
Location: The monastery museum is located 500m from the train-station Stein am Rhein, over the bridge.
Parking: Stein am Rhein has spacious parking near the center: "Mühlenstrasse" (northeast) and "Chlini Schanz" (west), both 300m from the monastery museum (1.50 francs / h, max. 9 francs / day).